PDA

View Full Version : Display threads in cmps



stitch
09-10-2004, 05:25 PM
Hello All,

Would you please show me how to display thread in the cmps like the one in the attached image


Thanks

TCB
09-10-2004, 07:51 PM
That's the news option. You need the setup a forum where you start a new thread for every newstopic. Then in vbadvanced you select that forum as the newsforum. The first post of a topic will be show on the mainpage as a newsblock. You can select multiple forums and also the number of newsblocks to show on the frontpage.

Our Sponsors
 

stitch
09-11-2004, 04:28 AM
Forgive me, but how do I set up a forum as newstopic?

Thanks

=dark3zz=
09-11-2004, 05:28 AM
go to your adminpanel of the vB Forum. there u see a new section from the new installed vBadvanced portal.....

--> vBaCMPS
--> default settings

--> news options
The ID number of your default news forum. To display threads from more than one forum, enter a list of forumids seperated by commas. Example setting: 1,4,9

--> news id (put it here....)

--> put here your just created forum for your news, and take this forum ID !!!

thats all !

Our Sponsors
 

stitch
09-11-2004, 06:04 AM
Do I have to put in subforum Id? Or the top forum ID?

Thanks

=dark3zz=
09-11-2004, 08:31 AM
Do I have to put in subforum Id? Or the top forum ID?

Thanksi thinl only the SUBFORUM ID.

i got this problem here: http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2587

FORUMS wont work, only subforums. no answer at this moment :)

stitch
09-11-2004, 03:58 PM
Thanks

stitch
09-11-2004, 04:35 PM
thanks for the information. Upon the closer look at the physical dabase table forum, the forumid is in the incremental order. Subforum or forum are still in the order they were created.

I put them on the list according to the number from database

If you have access to sql queries, run this

select forumid, title
from forum

I hope it works out for u