Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: News Title Problems

  1. #1

    Default News Title Problems

    Apparently, when I add an article to my News module (on the News forum), it doesn't display a title on the main page unless if the actual post itself is assigned a title in vB 3.5 RC1. Anyone else having this problem?

  2. #2
    Senior Member ConqSoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    1,614

    Default Re: News Title Problems

    When would the first post of a thread not have a title?
    My Blog
    GPS Discussion Forum

    *** Please do not contact me privately for help. Thanks. ***

  3. #3
    Administrator Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,460

    Default Re: News Title Problems

    Unless vB has changed something, there shouldn't be any reason that the first post wouldn't have a title. It's done this way intentionally as well so that you can change the title that apppears in the news without changing the thread title.

  4. #4

    Default Re: News Title Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Brian
    Unless vB has changed something, there shouldn't be any reason that the first post wouldn't have a title. It's done this way intentionally as well so that you can change the title that apppears in the news without changing the thread title.
    My news forum is moderated - it welcomes users posting to it, but these posts have to be approved in the moderation queue. The post-title there doesn't seem to make it to the front page. =/

    This problem doesn't seem to occur with straight-posting.

  5. #5
    Administrator Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,460

    Default Re: News Title Problems

    That might be a bug in vB then... If you turn off moderation in that forum does the post contain a title then? If so, you should report that to vB.
    In the mean time, you can edit your modules/news.php file and change 'post.title' in there to 'thread.title' and that will change it to use the thread's title instead of the post's.

  6. #6

    Default Re: News Title Problems

    Yep, it was a bug in vB that has apparently been corrected in vB 3.5 RC2.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. News Module - Only Title
    By Maxal in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-28-2005, 02:31 PM
  2. News, Thread Title Missing
    By paul41598 in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-04-2005, 09:32 PM
  3. where is the title limit number for news archive
    By cyr0n_k0r in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-14-2004, 11:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •