Page 1 of 11 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 213

Thread: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    33

    Thumbs up Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    I have found this module always nicely and skilful, and have decided to modify and rewrite it for vB 3.5 and vBa 2.0.
    Many thank to Deviant ++ for giving me the permissions to modify and rewrite its module.

    Features:

    1. Search box ( with advanced search).
    2. Drop Down Menus ( add as many drop down links and sublinks you want).
    3. Mouse Roll overs ( color changes on both main menu and submenu).
    4. Unique Button feel to highlight dull areas such as archive as vB Lite mode.
    5. Button to profile image (You can refer him to your gallery or download hack) .
    6. Complete IE and FF support.
    7. Easy to edit code parsing.
    8. Rename the module from edit module page instead of html coding.
    9. Conditional AdminCP link for admins.

    Install notes:

    Go to your Admincp -> open vBa CMPS -> Download / Upload Module

    - Please select a module from your computer to upload (select the navigationmenu.module).
    - Column (left is the best location).
    - Display Order (0 or what you want).
    - Active (yes).
    - Update All Pages (what you want).
    - Style to install templates to (what you want).
    - Usergroups (what you want).
    - Submit

    Upload upnew.gif & navbits_dash.gif to your skins ( 'misc' ) folder.

    all done !

    Note: Dont forget that you can save server resources by disabling the search module from the edit cmps module page.
    You can also look for support here, but I am not a real coder, thus help each other please.


    Module updated on 20 October 2005:
    Avalon111 found a bug in the search of the module, the [/form] tag was missing, thnx Avalon111

    Thnx all, and have fun with the new navigation module.




    Optional:
    You can adds 9 more search engines to your module.
    Thanks to Judge Ruckus & 58sniper

    Replace in your adv_portal_navmenu template this:

    Code:
    <!-- Search -->
    <hr size="1"/>
    <form action="{$vbulletin->options[bburl]}/search.php" method="post" name="search"> <input name="s" type="hidden" value="" /> <input name="do" type="hidden" value="process" /> <input name="sortby" type="hidden" value="lastpost" /> <input name="forumchoice" type="hidden" value="0" />
        <input class="bginput" name="query" size="16" type="text" /> $gobutton
        <div class="smallfont">&raquo; <a href="$vboptions[bburl]/search.php?">$vbphrase[advanced_search]</a></div>
    </form>
    <!-- / Search -->
    With this:

    Code:
    <!-- Search -->
    <hr size="1"/>
    <script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript">
        function startSearch(){
         searchString = document.searchForm.searchText.value;
         switch (document.searchForm.whichEngine.value) {
         case "altavista":
         finalSearchString = "http://www.altavista.com/web/results?q=" + searchString;
         break
         case "yahoo":
         finalSearchString = "http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=" + searchString;
         break
         case "excite":
         finalSearchString = "http://msxml.excite.com/info.xcite/search/web/" + searchString;
         break
         case "hotbot":
         finalSearchString = "http://www.hotbot.com/?MT=" + searchString;
         break
         case "infoseek":
         finalSearchString = "http://www.infoseek.com/Titles?qt=" + searchString;
         break
         case "lycos":
         finalSearchString = "http://www.lycos.com/cgi-bin/pursuit?query=" + searchString;
         break
         case "aolnetfind":
         finalSearchString = "http://netfind.aol.com/aolcom/search?query=" + searchString;
         break
         case "google":
         finalSearchString = "http://www.google.com/search?q=" + searchString;
         break
         case "mysearch":
         finalSearchString = "http://mysearch.myway.com/jsp/GGmain.jsp?searchfor=" + searchString;
         break
         case "netscape":
         finalSearchString = "http://search.netscape.com/ns/search?query=" + searchString;
         break
         case "vb":
         finalSearchString = "";
         document.searchForm.action = "$vboptions[bburl]/search.php";
     
         document.searchForm.method = "post";
         document.searchForm.query.value = document.searchForm.searchText.value;
         document.searchForm.submit();
         return true;
         break
         default:
         finalSearchString = "";
         }
         document.location = finalSearchString;
         return true;
        }
    </script>
    <form name="searchForm" method="post" action="">
        Search for: <input name="searchText" type="text" size="17"/> <b>@</b>
        <input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
        <input type="hidden" name="showposts" value="0" />
        <input type="hidden" name="query" />
        <select name="whichEngine">
         <option value="vb">$vboptions[bbtitle]</option>
         <option value="altavista">Altavista</option>
         <option value="yahoo">Yahoo!</option>
         <option value="excite">Excite</option>
         <option value="hotbot">Hotbot</option>
         <option value="infoseek">Infoseek</option>
         <option value="lycos">Lycos</option>
         <option value="aolnetfind">AOL Netfind</option>
         <option value="google">Google</option>
         <option value="mysearch">MySearch</option>
        </select>
        <center><input type="button" value="Search" onclick="startSearch();" /></center>
    </form>
    <!-- / Search -->
    Last edited by drl2005; 10-23-2005 at 08:20 PM.
    One Shared Passion
    DUTCH RACING LEAGUE
    BarfPK Racing

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Deviant ++ thank once again
    One Shared Passion
    DUTCH RACING LEAGUE
    BarfPK Racing

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    115

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    I have said it so many times, just one more.

    Thank you both very much, this is a great addition!

  4. #4

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    great i love it!!!!

  5. #5

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    i followed your instructions but it doesnt show up at the portal page?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    115

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Avalon111
    i followed your instructions but it doesnt show up at the portal page?
    1. Make sure it is active or turned on.
    ( Admin CP > Edit Modules > Navigation Menu )
    (Admin CP > Edit pages > Homepage)

    2. Double check the style you added it to.

    First things I would look at.
    Last edited by Judge Ruckus; 10-18-2005 at 06:01 PM.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    Great !
    Thank you

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    A galaxy far, far away...
    Posts
    6,609

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    Looks great! I'm sure a lot of vBa community members will find it useful.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Judge Ruckus
    (Admin CP > Edit pages > Homepage)
    my fault!
    next time i wont install anything after 11:30pm

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Avalon111
    my fault!
    next time i wont install anything after 11:30pm
    No problem
    One Shared Passion
    DUTCH RACING LEAGUE
    BarfPK Racing

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    Thank you all! It works great! Love it!!!!!
    Curt

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    70

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    works perfect
    www.synergyforums.com A Revolution in chat

  13. #13

    Exclamation Error in Code!

    Brian has found a problem in your module.

    i have asked him to have a look at my site because the vote button of the current poll module opened the search website.

    the [/form] tag was missing. i have added it to the following part of the template. now everything is working again.

    Code:
    <!-- Search -->
    <hr size="1"/>
    <form action="{$vbulletin->options[bburl]}/search.php" method="post" name="search"> <input name="s" type="hidden" value="" /> <input name="do" type="hidden" value="process" /> <input name="sortby" type="hidden" value="lastpost" /> <input name="forumchoice" type="hidden" value="0" />
    	<input class="bginput" name="query" size="16" type="text" /> $gobutton
    	<div class="smallfont">&raquo; <a href="$vboptions[bburl]/search.php?">$vbphrase[advanced_search]</a></div>
    </form>
    <!-- / Search -->

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Error in Code!

    Quote Originally Posted by Avalon111
    Brian has found a problem in your module.

    i have asked him to have a look at my site because the vote button of the current poll module opened the search website.

    the [/form] tag was missing. i have added it to the following part of the template. now everything is working again.

    Code:
    <!-- Search -->
    <hr size="1"/>
    <form action="{$vbulletin->options[bburl]}/search.php" method="post" name="search"> <input name="s" type="hidden" value="" /> <input name="do" type="hidden" value="process" /> <input name="sortby" type="hidden" value="lastpost" /> <input name="forumchoice" type="hidden" value="0" />
    	<input class="bginput" name="query" size="16" type="text" /> $gobutton
    	<div class="smallfont">&raquo; <a href="$vboptions[bburl]/search.php?">$vbphrase[advanced_search]</a></div>
    </form>
    <!-- / Search -->

    Thnx mate, I have updated the module
    One Shared Passion
    DUTCH RACING LEAGUE
    BarfPK Racing

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    24

    Default Need to make : chmod 777 to make it work.. any help

    It's asking me to :

    Your modules directory is not writable. Please chmod your modules directory to 777 and try again.

    What do I have to do to make this work?

    Go it working with : cpanel: go to the folder: click on permissions: put check mark in all cats; made it 777. Went back to Admin cp: Follow the instructions: Work like a charm.

    after the hack: went back to change settings back.
    Last edited by Perkyd; 10-21-2005 at 06:43 PM.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Need to make : chmod 777 to make it work.. any help

    Quote Originally Posted by Perkyd
    It's asking me to :

    Your modules directory is not writable. Please chmod your modules directory to 777 and try again.

    What do I have to do to make this work?
    -use a ftp client and open your webspace folder
    -select the modul folder
    -chmod 777

    finished!
    now its working

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Need to make : chmod 777 to make it work.. any help

    Quote Originally Posted by Perkyd
    It's asking me to :

    Your modules directory is not writable. Please chmod your modules directory to 777 and try again.

    What do I have to do to make this work?
    Go to your module folder with a ftp client, en chmod the folder to 777
    (Right click on your module folder, and you will see something of chmod.)
    One Shared Passion
    DUTCH RACING LEAGUE
    BarfPK Racing

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    115

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    I added the Super Search 2 to mine, asked the orginal coder if I could put it out as an add on for this but no reply.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tempe, Arizona
    Posts
    1,938

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    looking good as usual... Thanks bro. Might us it

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    216

    Default Re: Advanced Navigation module for vBulletin 3.5.x and CMPS 2.0

    Oooh lol, this module has definitely gotta be the most..umm shall we say.. 'combined' effort module for vba ? :P seriously. Never thought it'd take on so much when I combined the initial codes into one full thing.

Page 1 of 11 1234 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. New posts on Advanced CMPS
    By Basscat in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-01-2005, 06:46 PM
  2. If you update from CMPS 1 and had a template/module called Navigation
    By Morwyn in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-11-2005, 03:22 PM
  3. vBa CMPS: VBulletin Radio Module
    By brianstevz in forum Add-On Modules & Modifications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-09-2005, 03:07 PM
  4. Request: More advanced arcade module...
    By himerus in forum Add-On Modules & Modifications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-19-2004, 08:45 PM
  5. More Advanced News Module
    By bfoot045 in forum Feedback & Suggestions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-15-2004, 01:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •