Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Bug in news archive in vBadvanced 2.2.0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    26

    Default Bug in news archive in vBadvanced 2.2.0

    No one seemed to notice my mention of the bug here, so I thought I'd put it in its own thread. The last post icon which links to the last post in the news archive is still using the old format link in vBadvanced 2.2.0, so clicking the links gives an error. The lastesttopics module seems to have been updated to the new format and latesttopics.php fetches thread.lastpostid from the database, but news.php doesn't fetch this field at all and the adv_portal_news_archivebits template hasn't been updated. I've just checked the download and the template in vbacmps_install.php still has the old format link.

    I've managed to fix this myself, but the download on the site should be updated with a fix I think. To fix it:

    In modules/news.php find on line 107:
    Code:
    thred.threadid,
    And put straight after it:
    Code:
    thread.laspostid,
    So it looks like (obviously without the '...'):
    Code:
    thread.threadid, thread.lastpostid, post.title, thre....
    Then in the adv_portal_news_archivebits template find:
    Code:
    <a href="$vboptions[bburl]/showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]goto=lastpost&amp;t=$news[threadid]">
    And replace with:
    Code:
    <a href="$vboptions[bburl]/showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]p=$news[lastpostid]#post$news[lastpostid]">
    Anyone who applies this fix does so at their own risk - if it breaks your board don't blame me (my fix may be wrong, but works for me). People should wait until Brian fixes this, unless you really know what you are doing.

    Edit: Changed last post link format so it works with Opera, as mentioned here.
    Last edited by aos101; 08-13-2006 at 08:08 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Bug in news archive in vBadvanced 2.2.0

    Any chance a moderator can confirm this bug and move it to Bugs & Issues?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Bug in news archive in vBadvanced 2.2.0

    Quote Originally Posted by aos101 View Post
    Any chance a moderator can confirm this bug and move it to Bugs & Issues?
    I guess not then? This bug is still present in the download. I think Brian and the moderators on here should really look at their system for reporting and getting bugs recognised, because I'm finding it really difficult to have even a simple bug in vBadvanced recognised .

    If you are interested, these are examples of sites which exhibit this bug:

    http://id-discussions.com/
    http://www.iamnotageek.com/
    http://joystickrequired.com/
    http://www.dbstalk.com/
    http://forums.operationsports.com/vB...cmps_index.php
    http://www.hostingzero.com/
    http://www.abxzone.com/
    http://www.ihateblockbuster.com/

    Click the last post icon in the news archives of those sites and they all give an error because the link is the wrong format, and the templates and code in vBadvanced 2.2.0 have not been updated to the new format in the news archive.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,185

    Default Re: Bug in news archive in vBadvanced 2.2.0

    Moved.
    Zachery
    I may or may not do things.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. vBa 2.2.0 News & News Archive Problems
    By ZeneX in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-10-2006, 05:29 PM
  2. news and news archive question
    By petertdavis in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-11-2006, 04:03 PM
  3. A better news archive?
    By Rukas in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-16-2006, 07:52 PM
  4. Can I show news archive but not the news?
    By Nikke in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2005, 03:24 PM
  5. 'News' and 'News Archive' not showing together
    By marcmerz in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2004, 07:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •