Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Home/Forums Link

  1. #1

    Default Home/Forums Link

    I've done this template mod for the dynamic link, but it doesn't work well with the Links:
    In the Navbar template, find:
    Code:
    <!--<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>-->
    And replace it with this:
    Code:
    <td class="vbmenu_control"><if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'adv_index'"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]?$session[sessionurl]"> Forums <else /> <a href="$vboptions[homeurl]?$session[sessionurl]"> Home </if></a></td>
    On the Links page, the dynamic link reads "Home" but clicking it results in an error - it tries to take me to
    http://www.myforums.com/http://www.myforums.com/index.php/? How can I fix this?
    The Admin Zone Forums - Discussions & Articles for Community Administrators

  2. #2
    Administrator Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,467

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    What do you have set for your 'Home URL' option in your main vBulletin options? Make sure that it is set to the full URL to your homepage and that should solve the problem.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    It is set for the full URL to my homepage. Forums to Homepage and Homepage to Forums work fine. The problem is only from the Links to Homepage. Hmm, maybe on the Links page I should have links to both the Forums and the Hompage separately. How would I do that?
    The Admin Zone Forums - Discussions & Articles for Community Administrators

  4. #4
    Administrator Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,467

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    Ahhh... I forgot that the str_replace function to replace the links in the navbar also replaces the forum's link with the homepage link for the navbits. If you'll just change "$vboptions[homeurl]" to "/index.php" instead then that should take care of the problem.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    No, still having the same problem...
    The Admin Zone Forums - Discussions & Articles for Community Administrators

  6. #6

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    The "Home" link in the breadcrumbs works fine - what link does that use?
    The Admin Zone Forums - Discussions & Articles for Community Administrators

  7. #7

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    Quote Originally Posted by Brian
    Ahhh... I forgot that the str_replace function to replace the links in the navbar also replaces the forum's link with the homepage link for the navbits. If you'll just change "$vboptions[homeurl]" to "/index.php" instead then that should take care of the problem.
    Finally figured it out by looking at the Links Navbar template. It's not "/index.php", it's "index.php" without the slash...
    The Admin Zone Forums - Discussions & Articles for Community Administrators

  8. #8

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    Bah - still a problem. I went ahead and made a separate "Home Page" link and "Forums" Link for my Navbar. If I'm on the Links page and click on the Home Page link I go to the vBA CMPS Homepage. But, if I'm in the Forums and click on the Home Page Link I go to the Main forum Page.
    The Admin Zone Forums - Discussions & Articles for Community Administrators

  9. #9
    Administrator Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,467

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    Are your forums on a subdomain or something? As long as they're not, then there's no reason that changing the home link to '/index.php' shouldn't work...

  10. #10

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    No, my Board is not on a subdomain. And '/index.php' does work... unless I'm on the Links page when I click it, in which case I get an error because the link tries to take me to:
    http://www.myforums.com/http://www.myforums.com/index.php/
    The Admin Zone Forums - Discussions & Articles for Community Administrators

  11. #11

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    Here's my workaround for the Home Page link:
    Code:
    <if condition="VBA_SCRIPT == 'links_directory'">
    <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home Page</a></td></if>
    <if condition="VBA_SCRIPT !== 'links_directory'">
        <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT !== 'adv_index'">
    <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/index.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home Page</a></td></if></if>
    The Admin Zone Forums - Discussions & Articles for Community Administrators

  12. #12
    Administrator Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,467

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    Grrr... I keep forgetting about the str_replace function in the navbar that replaces those links. Sorry about that! This should fix the problem though and allow you to use '/index.php'...

    In your forum/includes/functions_links.php look for:

    PHP Code:
                $vboptions['bbtitle'],
                
    $vboptions['forumhome'] . '.php' 
    Replace that with:
    PHP Code:
                $vboptions['bbtitle'],
                
    '"' $vboptions['forumhome'] . '.php' 
    Then right below that find:
    PHP Code:
                $vboptions['hometitle'],
                
    $vboptions['homeurl'] . '/' 
    And replace that with:
    PHP Code:
                $vboptions['hometitle'],
                
    '"' $vboptions['homeurl'
    And that should fix the problem and allow you to use '/index.php' for the link.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    Now you're talking!

    BTW, I'm also sing the uStore hack, with the Store dropdown menu in my navbar. On the Links page, the dropdown is not the same as on all other pages... it shows only:

    uShop Menu
    Bank
    Richest Members
    Most Sold
    History
    Actions

    The links to the individual "actions" are missing. Any ideas on fixing that one?
    The Admin Zone Forums - Discussions & Articles for Community Administrators

  14. #14
    Administrator Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,467

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    Follow the instructions in this thread, except you'll want to make the changes to your /forum/includes/functions_links.php file instead.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    Thanks Brian - I'm all set now...

    ...unless you also happen to know which conditionals I can use to identify the V3 Arcade Main Page and the V3 Artices Main Page...
    The Admin Zone Forums - Discussions & Articles for Community Administrators

  16. #16
    Administrator Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,467

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    THIS_SCRIPT == 'article'

    And

    THIS_SCRIPT == 'arcade'


  17. #17
    Member StewardManscat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    Grrr... I keep forgetting about the str_replace function in the navbar that replaces those links. Sorry about that! This should fix the problem though and allow you to use '/index.php'...
    I found I needed to apply this fix

    PHP Code:
    replace
                
    '"' $vboptions['forumhome'] . '.php'
    with
                
    '"' $vboptions['homeurl'] . '/links/index.php' 
    But I see function construct_adv_navbar is included in gallery,links, and cmps. I wonder if there is a known rule for which could be ignored if all three products are together?

    And obviously, my fix isn't going to fly for me if and when I get all these products working together on the same site, and decide to sprinkle breadcrumbs everywhere. I need to think about that more for myself, but I wonder what the recommended procedure is?

    Home
    -Forums
    -Gallery
    -Links
    -My Contents

    ... at least four index.php pages... and this is further confused because "home" at an adult site is an entrance page that nobody cares about. My renamed cmps_index.php (now the lobby.php) is really my current home page.

    Grr yourself. You should be so lucky to forget what we have not begun to learn.

  18. #18
    Administrator Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,467

    Default Re: Home/Forums Link

    Could you elaborate a little more on exactly why the current method is causing a problem? I took a look, but I'm not seeing anything too obvious as to how it is creating a problem.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Link To Us and Link Module
    By BoNfiRe in forum Add-On Modules & Modifications
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 11-13-2004, 05:39 PM
  2. Problem with uShop Link
    By The Sandman in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-06-2004, 10:07 AM
  3. Submit Link & Mail
    By TraumTeam in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2004, 08:02 PM
  4. Link Exchanges
    By Snowy in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2004, 11:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •