Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 88

Thread: News are 2 columns

  1. #1

    Talking News are 2 columns

    Open Your "adv_portal" Template and at the very top find this

    Code:
    $stylevar[htmldoctype]
    Replace with this code

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
    Save and Close

    Now Open Your "adv_portal_newsbits" Template and find this code

    Code:
    <if condition="!$mod_options['portal_news_legacy']">
    Add Below this code

    Code:
    <if condition="$newscount == 1">   
    <table cellpadding="0" width="100%" height="100%">   
    </if>  
    
    <if condition="($newscount % 2)">   
    <tr>   
    </if>   
    <td valign="top" width="50%">   
    
    <table height="100%" align="center" border="0" class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" width="100%">
    very END of "adv_portal_newsbits" template add this code
    Code:
    </td>  
        </tr>   
        </table>   
        </if>   
    </if>
    and last option to do is go your vBa CMPS > Edit Pages > Homepage > Edit > Separate News Posts > turn to NO > And Save

    You Are Done
    i hope you like it


    Last edited by KalvinKlein; 01-24-2007 at 09:20 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    Works Great!
    Last edited by ProGaming; 02-13-2007 at 07:55 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    FINALLY! Darn near broke my nose on my keynoard trying to figure that one out.

  4. #4

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    Nice and clean.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    194

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    Excellent! Almost makes me want to add a portal now
    Peggy
    free and custom vB styles, forum services, website directory, and more!
    Rush Hour Madness - come join the fun!


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    183

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    almost??? lol

  7. #7

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    Thanx, worked first time for me

  8. #8

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    Works for me cept the module isnt collapsable now ?

  9. #9

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    actually not very good, as for some reason it has pushed my forum to the right a little....have tried to drop values of 100% to 95% to compensate...but it doesn't work... has anyone got any ideas how i can get everything centered like it was before....click here please

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    Thanks mate!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    Quote Originally Posted by motormeet.co.uk View Post
    actually not very good, as for some reason it has pushed my forum to the right a little....have tried to drop values of 100% to 95% to compensate...but it doesn't work... has anyone got any ideas how i can get everything centered like it was before....click here please
    In Firefox it works fine, but IE7 it does as Motormeet says, messes main table width up. Passed it onto my (so called) coder and the only thing that clears up the error is to revert the adv_portal template change

  12. #12

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    works great thanks

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    Quote Originally Posted by DaiNasty View Post
    In Firefox it works fine, but IE7 it does as Motormeet says, messes main table width up. Passed it onto my (so called) coder and the only thing that clears up the error is to revert the adv_portal template change
    Same here. CSS pukes in IE7 after this hack.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    Well I found a fix for my issue.

    I left the htmldoctype $stylevar in adv_portal. Renders perfectly in Firefox 2.0.0.3 and IE 7.0.6:

    http://www.minnesotamud.com/cmps_index.php

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    Quote Originally Posted by NovaBandit View Post
    Well I found a fix for my issue.

    I left the htmldoctype $stylevar in adv_portal. Renders perfectly in Firefox 2.0.0.3 and IE 7.0.6:

    http://www.minnesotamud.com/cmps_index.php
    Thats what I have done, in IE7 width is now correct, but height of each news block depends on amount of content. All at different heights!
    http://www.cornishserver.com

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    1,040

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    the $stylevar[htmldoctype] is a very important piece of code to remove. It tells the browsers that this is quirks or strict mode. Removing that will cause display problems. Difference between quirks and strict mode
    Last edited by Lionel; 04-25-2007 at 07:39 PM.

  17. #17

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    I got this working, thanks to the author.

    Is there any way to keep a same height for all news blocks? Because as DaiNasty noted, right now all news blocks have diferrent heights, depending on their content. (This only appears in IE, it seems that Firefox is forcing the blocks to have the same size).

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    and last option to do is go your vBa CMPS > Edit Pages > Homepage > Edit > Separate News Posts > turn to NO > And Save

    here i not andostend(((

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    It works! Thank you!

    But is it possible to have 2 independent news modules on the central column?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: News are 2 columns

    sorry, but I cant find the "adv_portal" Template, I have vbulletin 3.6.7

    Edit. I found it
    Last edited by alexrojas; 07-05-2007 at 04:57 PM.

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. News 2 columns
    By jhons in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-24-2007, 08:54 AM
  2. news columns and images
    By jaffa in forum Feedback & Suggestions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-06-2006, 12:16 PM
  3. News - 2 columns??
    By Nordinho in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 09-02-2005, 03:15 AM
  4. How to display latest news in 2 columns?
    By lee wilde in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-15-2005, 09:19 PM
  5. Publish News in columns instead of rows
    By Black_Widow in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-2005, 05:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •