Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Database Error from News Module

  1. #1

    Default Database Error from News Module

    I don't know why this error is happening. My vbadvanced ruled fine and vbulletin until i tried to enter one time inside my portal and i saw a database error. Before this i just put some news in the module news. Nothing more. If you try to enter without login in to my portal, the error is shown. But if you are logging in the portal, the error don't show.

    My vbadvanced url: http://www.islatecnologica.com Can't enter if i am not logged.

    But if i enter the forum url, i can enter logged or not: http://www.islatecnologica.com/foro

    Why this error is due to?

    Thank you for the help
    Last edited by Levimatt; 03-05-2008 at 07:21 PM.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Database error

    It seems that when i need to paginate news, if i display them, the system fails.
    When the user is not logged and i have more news that the maximum number of post to display, the system goes down. If the user is logged the system runs, but the paginate doesn't work. It always show the same threads, even i enable the news pagination. It only displays the first threads included in the maximum number of threads to display.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Database error

    Have you tried the fix from this thread?
    http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/showthread.php?t=27175

    If that doesn't help, can you post the full error you're receiving?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Database error

    The thread you say is referred to download the latest version of news.php, but i've downladed the CMS two weeks ago, and the date of the release you say in the thread is prior to the date i downloaded the CMS, so in fact, the news.php i have is updated.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Database error

    Quote Originally Posted by Brian View Post
    If that doesn't help, can you post the full error you're receiving?

  6. #6

    Default Re: Database error

    Here you have the code error:

    Database error in vBulletin 3.6.8:

    Invalid SQL:

    SELECT COUNT(*) AS count
    FROM thread
    WHERE visible = 1 AND open != 10 AND (threadid IN(2637,2638,2648,2658,2659,2660) AND dateline > 1199573919;

    MySQL Error : You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '' at line 3
    Error Number : 1064
    Date : Wednesday, March 5th 2008 @ 03:58:39 PM
    Script : http://www.islatecnologica.com/portal/
    Referrer : http://www.islatecnologica.com/foro/...fa8b3859c7470a
    IP Address : 88.26.104.143
    Username : No Registrado
    Classname : vB_Database

  7. #7

    Default Re: Database error

    I think that the problem is due to the pagination of news. If i don't paginate news, and i show all my news in my portal, everything is ok. But if i paginate all the news, system fails.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Database error

    We're getting the same thing:

    Invalid SQL:

    SELECT COUNT(*) AS count
    FROM thread
    WHERE visible = 1 AND open != 10 AND (threadid IN(64452) AND dateline > 1202088114;

    MySQL Error : You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '' at line 3 Error Number : 1064
    Date : Tuesday, March 4th 2008 @ 08:21:54 PM
    Script : http://www.crookedh.com/?
    Referrer :
    IP Address : 74.210.28.215
    Username : Unregistered
    Classname : vB_Database
    I just downloaded the 3.0 package again and compared the news.php to the one on the server and they are exactly the same aside from the download date, but I went ahead and overwrote it anyway.

    vBa: 3.0 Gold
    vB: 3.6.5 (yes, I know it's old. On the list to update. lol)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Database error

    I'm not sure how you would still be having that problem if you're running the latest version of the news.php file, but if you would like to submit a support ticket via the Members' Area here I'll be glad to take a look at things for you.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Database error

    the latest version of news.php is in the latest release of vbadvanced ( vbadvanced_cmps_3_0_0_(vb_3_6_-_vb_3_7) )?

  11. #11

    Default Re: Database error

    Brian, is this the new version?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Database error

    Yes, 3.0.0 is the latest version.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Database error

    that version is what i have installed

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Database error

    Quote Originally Posted by Brian View Post
    I'm not sure how you would still be having that problem if you're running the latest version of the news.php file, but if you would like to submit a support ticket via the Members' Area here I'll be glad to take a look at things for you.
    ...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Database error

    I submitted a Support Ticket for my issue. Thanks, Brian.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Database error

    nul7, do you now anything else about this issue?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Database error

    Unfortunately not. I just had to disable the news module until a fix can be found. I submitted a support ticket, but I just went to check on the status and I typed the username incorrectly so Brian wasn't able to log in. *sigh*

    I do know that it only affected about 50% of the visitors. I didn't have the error at all so I didn't even know it was happening until another staff member posted about it saying that he was not able to log on for 3 days and had to use a different computer. I never asked what browser he uses... maybe it's only an IE issue (I use firefox)?

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Database Error from News Module

    For anyone else that may be having this problem, I've just updated the modules/news.php file in the download package here to include the fix. If you will download the files from here again and replace that file on your server with the updated version, that should take care of the problem.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Database Error from News Module

    Awesome. Thanks, again, Brian!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Database error
    By lxjoshxl in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-03-2008, 02:57 PM
  2. SQL Error From News Module
    By curriertech in forum Bugs From 3.0.0
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-01-2008, 05:23 PM
  3. Database error when i add a module
    By elroger in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-25-2008, 01:14 PM
  4. Get NEWS from other database forum
    By fastuning in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-22-2007, 04:05 PM
  5. Database Error when News Module Active
    By breamy in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-13-2007, 11:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •