Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33

Thread: Go to new post fragment...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default Go to new post fragment...

    I had a smooth upgrade of my board from 3.7 Beta 4 to Beta 6.
    Then, I began seeing this when someone clicks go to new post, or go to last post:

    -1)) { fetch_object('currentPost').scrollIntoView(true); }">

    Right above the reply to thread button at the top of the thread.

    Board: www.i6boards.com

    So, I updated the CMPS to the latest version, and it's still there.
    It's not the skin that I designed, because everything worked fine before, and the forum works fine when the CMPS is disabled. Any help on this issue? I don't want to edit the source code of the CMPS if I don't have to.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    Same thing, same upgrade, same update to CMPS, forums work fine when CMPS is disabled aswell.

    www.group-17.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    same here!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    That's strange. It's not really a gigantic problem, but it's still annoying to see it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    Same problem here, was not present in 3.7.0 b5, but it is in 3.7.0 b6.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    Got another one, probably caused by the same problem.

    When viewing "currently active users" in the upper left corner of the forums this appears:
    ";

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    I don't have that issue...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    And me neither

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    Well just thought I'd give the mods more info about this...

    This is using integration, and the problem is with integration and showthread.php when it's supposed to snap to a single post (such as showthread.php?p=720634#post720634)

    Also, I noticed there is an error (I have firebug an extension for firefox), that says there's an "invalid XML attribute value" in showthread.php line 4. I've confirmed the same error on the group-17's website using firebug.

    Since so many of us seem to have this error, shouldn't it be put in the bug section? Many people seem to be able to reproduce this.

  10. #10

    Default vbulletin 3.7.6 Issue

    When ever you go to a new thread and click View First Unread the following code appears above the first post.

    Code:
    -1)) { fetch_object('currentPost').scrollIntoView(true); }">
    This only occurs when viewing a thread that has multiple pages and using View First Unread is used.

    I disabled all plugins 1 by 1 and vbadvanced disabling clears the issue.

    Example by clicking View First Unread
    http://www.highperformancestangs.com...5778#post35778

    Example by not using View First Unread
    http://www.highperformancestangs.com...?t=4054&page=6
    Last edited by burntire; 03-11-2008 at 02:25 AM.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    Quote Originally Posted by Black Tiger View Post
    Got another one, probably caused by the same problem.

    When viewing "currently active users" in the upper left corner of the forums this appears:
    That is fixable.

    Look for the extra "; in the whois online template and remove it.

    Find this
    Code:
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="$vboptions[WOLrefresh]"; url=online.php?$session[sessionurl]order=$sortorder&amp;sort=$sortfield&amp;pp=$perpage&amp;page=$pagenumber$refreshargs />";
    Replace with this
    Code:
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="$vboptions[WOLrefresh]"; url=online.php?$session[sessionurl]order=$sortorder&amp;sort=$sortfield&amp;pp=$perpage&amp;page=$pagenumber$refreshargs />
    Last edited by burntire; 03-11-2008 at 02:52 AM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    It doesn't do it when you turn off page integration

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    @Burntire: So that would be a vbulletin bug c.q. code mistake.
    Thank you very much for the fix!!

    Hopefully somebody can fix the "fetch_object" line problem too.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    A galaxy far, far away...
    Posts
    6,609

    Default Re: vbulletin 3.7.6 Issue

    Scroll into view is a posbit javascript function.

    Does the problem also occur when you view the integrated page with the default style?

    Also, besides trying the default style are you running any CMPS modules other than the stock modules? If so, try turning them off one-by-one on the page to see if the problem is with any malformed HTML in the custom modules.

  15. #15

    Default Re: vbulletin 3.7.6 Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KW802 View Post
    Scroll into view is a posbit javascript function.

    Does the problem also occur when you view the integrated page with the default style?

    Also, besides trying the default style are you running any CMPS modules other than the stock modules? If so, try turning them off one-by-one on the page to see if the problem is with any malformed HTML in the custom modules.
    It occurs on the default style also. I turned of modules one by one and the issue does not go away unless I totally turn off vbadvanced.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    Yep indeed. I have a default style, no templates changed, it happens also.

    By the way... a little typo on some places here, it's not 3.7.6 it's 3.7.0 beta 6.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    Same problem for me with the showthread.php. I think I wore out my welcome at vB asking about it, they sent me back here. It looks like they changed something between b5 and b6 but they won't say what it is.

    Skip

  18. #18

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    I am sure Brian will get it worked out. He always does.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    vB added some new javascript to the SHOWTHREAD template within the body tag in beta 6, and that javacript contains a > tag which is throwing off the CMPS a bit since it thinks that tag marks the end of the <body> tag. I've spent about an hour this morning trying to find a good solution for the problem, but haven't had much luck so far. As soon as I'm able to come up with a good fix though I'll reply back here.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: Go to new post fragment...

    Great Brian. Thanks for looking at it! I'm sure we all appreciate it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Today Post, New Post & Search Database Errors
    By ericpsf in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-18-2008, 12:22 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-05-2007, 12:20 PM
  3. Post Icons and Last Post button
    By ryr8828 in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-04-2007, 11:29 PM
  4. Latest threads on CMPS - takes to post #1 not latest post
    By Viks in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-16-2005, 02:47 PM
  5. My post icons went away, as did the line under post titles
    By Noah in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-23-2004, 07:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •