Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29

Thread: Links Director Module for CMPS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    160

    Default Links Director Module for CMPS

    Yesterday we upgraded our vBulletin to 3.7.0 and we also upgraded to the latest versions of vBadvanced and Links Directory, so we're compatible with everything (hopefully!).

    A couple of questions...

    1. When we had Links Directory installed, we had a link in the NavBar that took users straight to the Links. This is no longer there, and we wondered what to insert, and where to insert it, so we can get the link back in the NavBar.

    2. The Links Directory module we had on our home page no longer appears/works, even though I've made sure it's got the right privileges etc.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    1). Sounds lke you reverted your navbar template, so you would just need to add something like this back to the template:
    Code:
    <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/links/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">Links Directory</a></td>
    2). So it's just not showing up at all? Do you see any error messages or anything like that? Can you link me to the module you're using?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    I've just had a look through our page set up, and it would appear a number of our modules no longer seem to work...

    1. Links Directory: Latest Links
    2. Photopost Featured Photos
    3. Photopost Classified Ads
    Last edited by grahamsmythe; 05-04-2008 at 04:13 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    What exactly is the problem with them?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    Well, basically they're just not showing, even though they're activated on the page. As far as I'm aware, we didn't do anything fancy - we just upgraded.

    Our homepage looks a bit sparse at the moment, as there's so little showing.

    I can't say I'm surprised, as we just upgraded everything!

    We're now on the latest versions of vBulletin, vBadvanced, Links Directory, PhotoPost, PhotoPost Review and PhotoPost Classifieds.

    Perhaps I need to install everything from scratch, rather than just upgrading?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    Just an update really - our adv_portal_latestlinks and adv_portal_linkbits templates had vanished, so this was the problem behind the Latest Links module.

    Therefore this thread is probably in the wrong category now!

    Just left with the problem of the PhotoPost and PhotoPost Classifieds modules now showing anything.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    Can you link me to the threads where you downloaded those modules from (or any modules you're still having an issue with)?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    Hi Brian

    I've been struggling like crazy with this, so I really do appreciate you coming back to me to see how I'm getting on!

    Well, basically as I said previously, I've now got everything working as it should on our forum, except these bloody modules for PhotoPost and PhotoPost Classifieds.

    It turns out that PhotoPost don't claim any compatibility with vBadvanced (which is a bit short sighted in my opinion).

    I ended up tying myself up in all sort of knots, and at the end couldn't work out what I'd installed, and what I hadn't, so ended up deleting all references to PhotoPost modules, then started again.

    I tried doing this...
    http://www.photopost.com/forum/showthread.php?t=125806

    but ended up with a blank screen on the homepage, and couldn't work out why.

    The silly thing is, when I paid for all three packages and installations, the guys down at PhotoPost installed these modules into vBadvanced - but don't seem to be able to help now!

    Even if I did get the above module to work for PhotoPost, I still haven't been able to find any solutions for a PhotoPost Classifieds module.

    Life's never easy is it?!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    That thread seems to be in a private forum there... Can you maybe attach the module here?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    Hi Brian

    Here goes...

    Graham

    PS - When I've finally got this to work on my site, I'm going to write some 'Idiot Notes' for other 'Idiots' like me and post them here.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    Winzip says the file you've attached is corrupted. :/

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    Try this one...

    Graham
    Last edited by Brian; 05-15-2008 at 02:49 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    Much better.

    Looks like there's a few things that could potentially go wrong with the module from reading the install text... A blank page like that is usually caused by a PHP error that causes the script to halt, but if your host has error reporting disabled then you can only see the error by going to your error logs. Could you re-enable the module and view your CMPS to cause the error to happen again, then check your error logs through cPanel or some other means to see exactly what the error was and post that here?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    In the inc_randomimage.php file, there's a bit of code as follows...

    $link = mysql_connect ("localhost", "username", "password") or die('I cannot connect to the database.');
    mysql_select_db ("databasename")or die("Could not select photopost database");


    I know what the username is (root), and I know what the password is, but what should localhost be? Should this be something like '/var/www/mywebsite/photos/'?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    I would think 'localhost' would work. Not sure if PP has that value defined in their config file, but it wouldn't hurt to check it and make sure the value in your module matches the value in the config file, assuming it's in the config file.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    This is my config-inc.php file for PhotoPost.

    Do you think 'localhost' is still correct?

    Code:
    <?php
    //**************** External Header Configuration ****************//
    //
    // the isset prevents vB headers from being sent during login/logout -
    // do not remove this line as it may cause the vB headers to interfere with the login/logout process
    //
    // To include the file, first edit the header-inc.php
    //
    
    if ( !isset($skip_exheader) ) {
        include "header-inc.php";
    }
    
    // PhotoPost Pro Version Number
    $VERSION = "6.1";
    
    // Path to your PhotoPost installation - no end slashes
    $PP_PATH = "/var/www/mydomainname/photos";
    
    // All of the .tmpl files are placed into a directory called "templates"; if you wish to change the
    // name of the directory to something else to protect your files, you may do so and indicate the name
    // of the directory here - this is not a path to the directory, just the directory name; the directory
    // cannot be moved from the PhotoPost main directory.
    $TMPL_PATH = "templates";
    
    //**************** MySQL Database Configuration ****************//
    // PhotoPost database host address, or leave as localhost
    $host="localhost";
    
    // PhotoPost's database name
    $database="photopost";
    
    // MySQL username and password to access PhotoPost's database
    //
    // These two variables are for the userid and password needed to access
    // the PhotoPost database named above.
    $mysql_user="root";
    $mysql_password="xxxxxxxxxx";
    
    // If you want to use a prefix for your database, enter it here.
    // NOTE: This variable can only be set PRIOR to your first installation of PhotoPost;
    // existing databases will not be changed and you will be unable to connect if you change
    // this variable after performing a default installation.
    $pp_db_prefix = "pp_";
    
    // User database host address, or leave as localhost
    $host_bb="localhost";
    
    // User database MySQL database name
    //
    // This is the variable for the User Database; if you are using Internal
    // as your registration system, then these variables are the same as the
    // ones above.  If you are linking to a message board system,
    // thse variables should be set to the database, user and password for that
    // database.
    $database_bb="vbulletin";
    
    // MySQL username and password to access user database
    //
    // These two variables are for the userid and password needed to access
    // the PhotoPost or BB database.
    $user_bb="root";
    $password_bb="xxxxxxxxxx";
    
    //
    // VB3 License Number required for VB3 integration
    // You can find this number by checking your index.php file in your vB3 directory
    // The 4th line in the file looks like:
    // || # vBulletin 3.0.0 - Licence Number ########
    // It is the ######## number you need to place below.
    $vblicense = "xxxxxxxxxx";
    
    //**************** Application Configuration ****************//
    
    // Default Language
    // This needs to be set to the name of the directory used inside of the languages directory
    $pplang = "english";
    
    //////////////////////// Application Configuration ////////////////////////////////
    // These variables set the path to the UNZIP, MOGRIFY and JHEAD commands on your system
    //
    // This only needs to be set if you are allowing ZIP uploads. These are full paths,
    // including the name of the executable (.exe extensions for windows)
    // The -j option for Info-ZIP's UNZIP tells it to ignore paths in ZIP file
    //
    // This option is only used in the event the internal UNZIP does not work for you
    //$zip_command = "/usr/bin/unzip -j";
    
    // Path to MOGRIFY executable
    // There should be no spaces in the directory names, use short names if necessary.
    // Examples:
    // $mogrify_command = "c:\progra~1\imagemagick\mogrify.exe";
    // $mogrify_command = "c:\ImageMagick\mogrify.exe";
    $mogrify_command = "/usr/bin/X11/mogrify";
    
    ?>
    Last edited by grahamsmythe; 05-12-2008 at 05:04 PM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    Yup, looks like 'localhost' would be the correct value... Were you able to check your error logs to see what the exact error was?

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    Firstly, I haven't checked my error log yet - I wasn't too sure how to go about doing that, could you point me in the right direction?

    Secondly, these are the variables I have inserted into those standard php files I posted earlier

    inc_randomimage.php
    Code:
    $link = mysql_connect ("localhost", "root", "xxxxxxxx") or die('I cannot connect to the database.');
    mysql_select_db ("photopost")or die("Could not select photopost database");
    randomimage_block.php
    Code:
    <?php
    include('/var/www/vincentownersclub/photos/inc_randomimage.php');
    echo "$photopostrandimage";
    ?>
    When I enable it now, I just get a blank screen on my browser.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    Checking the error log would be the best route since we're really just stabbing in the dark right now. Assuming you have cPanel, login there and one of the icons should say "Error Log" (it's the last icon in the 4th row in my version, but may be in a different spot on yours). Click that icon and it will show you the last 300 or so error messages. If you re-enable that module and visit the page to create the blank page problem, that should post something new to the top of your error log that will give us a better idea of what's going on.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: Links Director Module for CMPS

    I'm going to appear like a real 'clot' here.

    I'm not sure what cPanel is! Is this something that's contained within vBulletin, or our site manager? We're hosted by WestHost., and they don't have a cPanel.

    However, I do get access to an error file that's generated to.../var/log/httpd/

    Is this the one you're referring to?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Latest or Hot Links Module (CMPS 2.2.1 + Links D.2.0rc1)
    By nostalgia in forum Add-On Modules (version 3.x & 2.x)
    Replies: 114
    Last Post: 03-06-2009, 11:25 PM
  2. Using vbA Links as module in CMPS?
    By JamesCybert in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-21-2007, 11:56 AM
  3. Newest/Random Links Block (from links/index.php) as a CMPS Module?
    By neverstop in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-19-2007, 05:27 AM
  4. Can vba Links be modified to look like a Yahoo director?
    By ludachris in forum Pre-Sale Questions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-12-2007, 09:13 AM
  5. vbavanced links director german language ?
    By Thoman in forum Pre-Sale Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2007, 02:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •