Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Bad Clouds: Tag Cloud Glitch

  1. #1

    Default Bad Clouds: Tag Cloud Glitch

    I am having problems with the tag cloud - popular tags module feature.

    On the home page it appears correctly like this:



    On my other pages, it appears like this:




    Can anybody help me with this?

    FT

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Bad Clouds: Tag Cloud Glitch

    This was pointed out a few days ago I was thinking that the fix for this had already been applied to the download package here, but apparently not. I've just updated the package here with the fix though, so if you will download the files from here again and replace your modules/popular_tags.php file with the updated version then that should take care of the problem.
    Or if you would rather apply the fix manually, just look in the file for this line:
    PHP Code:
    $headinclude .= stripslashes(fetch_template('tag_cloud_headinclude')); 
    And replace with this:
    PHP Code:
    $mods['formcode'] = stripslashes(fetch_template('tag_cloud_headinclude')); 

  3. #3

    Default Re: Bad Clouds: Tag Cloud Glitch

    Brian,

    Sorry for my impatience. That worked like a charm and took 2 seconds.

    FT

  4. #4

    Default Re: Bad Clouds: Tag Cloud Glitch

    Looks like I've got the same issue here, despite having ensured I'm updated with the new module.

    Any ideas?

  5. #5

    Default Re: Bad Clouds: Tag Cloud Glitch

    I've also checked and the same issue is there with the default theme as well.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Bad Clouds: Tag Cloud Glitch

    Can you open the modules/poplar_tags.php file from your server and verify that it contains this line?
    PHP Code:
    $mods['formcode'] = stripslashes(fetch_template('tag_cloud_headinclude')); 
    You also may want to edit the module through the Admin CP and make sure it has the following listed under the Templates Used section:
    Code:
    tag_cloud_box
    tag_cloud_headinclude
    tag_cloud_link

  7. #7

    Default Re: Bad Clouds: Tag Cloud Glitch

    Yep all in there.....

    I fixed it in a weird way.......

    I gave up on it and came across the wordcloud module, I loaded that but only activated it for Admins.

    When I checked the portal the wordcloud module was not visible, but the Tag Cloud had started displaying correctly.

    Weird or what!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Oops. Found the code.

    I already have the correct code. Will check that the modules are loaded.
    Hypography - Science for Everyone
    http://hypography.com/ - http://hypography.com/forums

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Nope, not working for me.
    Hypography - Science for Everyone
    http://hypography.com/ - http://hypography.com/forums

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default

    Did you double check that those templates are in the Templates used section? They don't appear to be since the CSS for tags is not being executed on your page.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Yes I double checked that.

    I am trying to figure out exactly when the cloud started to look like it does. It was only a few days ago. I didn't install any hacks or upgrades or anything that I am away of. It's a bit strange, really.
    Hypography - Science for Everyone
    http://hypography.com/ - http://hypography.com/forums

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default

    Hrmm... I'm not sure what else the issue might be, but if you would like to submit a support ticket via the Members' Area here I'll be glad to take a look at things for you.

  13. #13

    Default

    alright... I had the same issue with tag cloud but the solution as described in post #2 solved my problem.

    BUT unfortunately, this solution generated XHTML validation issues for me. I always like to keep my site xhtml validated.

    Please help me getting these removed.

    1. Warning: <style> tag isn't allowed in <td> elements
    2. Error: discarding unexpected <form>

    Thank you

  14. #14

    Default

    I had that problem myself and was unable to fix it, so in the end stopped using that module.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by veenuisthebest View Post
    BUT unfortunately, this solution generated XHTML validation issues for me. I always like to keep my site xhtml validated.

    Please help me getting these removed.

    1. Warning: <style> tag isn't allowed in <td> elements
    2. Error: discarding unexpected <form>

    Thank you
    I have the same problem. There seems to be a bug? Why use the formcode to insert styles?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by veenuisthebest View Post
    alright... I had the same issue with tag cloud but the solution as described in post #2 solved my problem.

    BUT unfortunately, this solution generated XHTML validation issues for me. I always like to keep my site xhtml validated.

    Please help me getting these removed.

    1. Warning: <style> tag isn't allowed in <td> elements
    2. Error: discarding unexpected <form>

    Thank you
    Same for me ... this two errors are caused by the tag module ...

    we need this to be fixed ^^

  17. #17

    Default

    Even after upgrading to 3.1.0??

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by veenuisthebest View Post
    Even after upgrading to 3.1.0??
    Yes ... my CMPS is 3.0.1 ...

    and I tried the default style ... put the problem is still there ...

    Have you find a fix for it ? or it should be already fixed in 3.1.0 ?

    because you seem to have fixed it .

    Please reply .

  19. #19

    Default

    It is fixed in 3.1.0, so upgrade.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I'm sorry ... I wrote a wrong version up there in the previous reply ...

    It's 3.1.0 not 3.0.1 ...

    and in my case the problem is still there !!

    can you tell me how it was fixed in you're 3.1.0 ??

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 3.7 Tag Cloud?
    By glorify in forum Module & Modification Discussion & Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-01-2008, 02:40 PM
  2. Directories Glitch
    By Rob Locke in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-26-2006, 08:38 PM
  3. Strange log-in glitch
    By valentine in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-24-2005, 03:09 PM
  4. Minor glitch after upgrade to 3.0.5
    By valentine in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-2005, 03:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •