Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Thumbshots issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    1,040

    Default Thumbshots issue

    There is something going on with displaying thumbshots.
    It's enabled, I tried removing the if condition in the linkbit template to bypass it, no matter what it will not display. I put the code simplified

    <img src="http://open.thumbshots.org/image.aspx?url=$link[linkurl]">

    then it displays
    Real useful and Cool vBulletin addons

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    1,040

    Default Re: Thumbshots issue

    hummmmm I removed
    width="120" height="90"
    from template and it displays.... weird
    Real useful and Cool vBulletin addons

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    1,040

    Default Re: Thumbshots issue

    Definitely does not like both parameters. Removing
    height="90"
    will display it. This is happening in both FF and IE. I just took a look at their site and the code is
    <img src="http://open.thumbshots.org/image.aspx?url=[LINK]" border="1" />
    I think the 120x90 should be defined in the class <td class="$show[class_thumbshot]"> in case it tries to display the 1px image for those with no DMOZ listing. (where to define that class by the way?)

    If the thumbshot for the particular URL does not exist or is empty (file not found, connection timeout, invalid request error, etc.) then the thumbshot returned will be a 1 x 1 transparent pixel. If you need to force every thumbshot to fill the 120 x 90 pixel space, you can simply wrap each thumbshot with a borderless table cell of that size.
    They are also mentioning a Symantec issue blocking thumbshots, which is not my case (I had that issue on my own site, where everybody but me could see the banners and that had made had made me disabled ad blocking already), so I thought I'd mention it because some people will experience it.
    Last edited by Lionel; 06-02-2008 at 02:08 AM.
    Real useful and Cool vBulletin addons

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Thumbshots issue

    Weird... I've seen a number of links with no thumbshot, but didn't have any problems like that...

    (where to define that class by the way?)
    It's defined in the files and is just a variable, not a class. It switches between the alt1/2 classes depending on what other options are enabled that would add <td> tags in the linkbits template.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    1,040

    Default Re: Thumbshots issue

    I see according to your footer that this option is enabled in your demo.
    Here is a screenshot of what I see with an empty slot for the thumbs.

    Mine was like that until I remove the dimensions tags

    http://www.vbcover.com/links/
    Last edited by Lionel; 06-02-2008 at 04:11 PM.
    Real useful and Cool vBulletin addons

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default Re: Thumbshots issue

    Weird, they show up fine for me in IE and FF... What browser/OS are you using? Guess the height tag will need to go in the next version.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    1,040

    Default Re: Thumbshots issue

    I have that problem with both IE 7.0 and FF
    Real useful and Cool vBulletin addons

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    i have this problem as well is there a solution?

    http://www.vfxtalk.com/facilities/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,694

    Default

    Lionel's issue was posted @18months ago and was from Links Directory v.3.0 Beta 2.

    We are now on v 3.2.1 .Viewing your forum I see no problem,the thumbshots are showing correctly.
    Seen vB5 beta? No more vbulletin for me, done , gone,finished .

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. RSS issue
    By Lionel in forum Bugs From 1.0 RC1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-18-2007, 12:30 PM
  2. Still another Nav issue ... sorry
    By Jmistrot in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-26-2007, 11:20 AM
  3. how do i fix my issue? i cant see anything
    By lowandloudinc in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-15-2005, 10:42 PM
  4. Thumbshots.org - Integration
    By interfx in forum Pre-Sale Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-25-2004, 08:12 AM
  5. Will it be an issue?
    By pulsetoday in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-03-2004, 12:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •