Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 67

Thread: Latest or Hot Links Module (Updated for version 3 of Links Directory)

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    741

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by maikju View Post
    Very nice stuff. But i am looking to use links from a certain category instead of random or latest. I am pretty sure it is a simple change...
    In the .php file, find
    PHP Code:
    WHERE links.valid AND links.open 
    and
    after that add
    PHP Code:
    and links.catid 17 
    in case your certain category is number 17.

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default Thank you..

    Thank you, i am getting closer and closer. The last thing i need is the Rating, how can i get it in there.
    If you look at http://cloudhostrating.com/index.php?pageid=ffmpeg_host
    at the bottom of the page is the ffmpeg test module . I would like the rating to show with each link
    http://cloudhostrating.com - Rate and review your hosting company!

  3. #23
    Misandry is a hate crime
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    142

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenrikHansen View Post
    In the .php file, find
    PHP Code:
    WHERE links.valid AND links.open 
    and
    after that add
    PHP Code:
    and links.catid 17 
    in case your certain category is number 17.
    Could you advise on how to add links from several categories? e.g. 17,19,22,23 ?

    Thank you.

  4. #24
    Junior Member masterweb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Thanks a lot for your hack, i was looking for an easy way to show "Random Links" from the directory on the home page and i found your hack. Installed and working after 10 minutes on a vB 3.8.1 SP 1.

  5. #25
    Member Mondi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Sorry for the delayed response Larina [c 12-21-2008 06:36 AM post]

    Could you take a quick peek here, bottom of the page, to see what's gone wrong here. Links display nicely, but header covers only 1/4th of module-top..

    Obviously - doesn't look as well as it should...LOL

    Hmmm.

    Please?

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    367

    Default

    You've got it Mondi? I can't see any problems with the module-top?

    larina

  7. #27
    Senior Member ibaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    296

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by larina View Post
    Don, in the file latestlinks.php set $order to 5 and $limit also to 5.

    For a horizontal display you need to edit the template adv_portal_linkbits like that:
    Find
    <td class="$getbgrow">
    (it is the second row in the code I posted above)
    and replace this row with:
    <td class="$getbgrow" rowspan="5" valign="top">

    larina
    Just thought I would share this.

    I created the horizontal layout with thumbs for 4 links to be displayed but found that the images were dropping down as it progressed through each one. This was caused by the extra <tr>'s in the code.

    To fix this I moved the <tr>'s to my adv_portal_latestlinks:
    Code:
    <tr>
    $linkbits
    </tr>
    I then removed the <tr>'s from my adv_portal_linkbits template:
    Code:
    <td class="$getbgrow" valign="top" align="center" width="25%">
        <a href="$linkurl/showlink.php?$session[sessionurl]do=goto&amp;l=$link[linkid]&amp;linkurl=$link[linkurl]" target="_blank">
        <img src="http://open.thumbshots.org/image.pxf?url=$link[linkurl]" border="0" alt="$link[name]" width="100" height="75" /></a><br /><br />
    
        <div class="smallfont">
            <a href="$linkurl/showlink.php?$session[sessionurl]do=showdetails&amp;l=$link[linkid]">$link[name]</a><br />
            (<a href="$linkurl/browselinks.php?$session[sessionurl]c=$link[catid]">$link[catname]</a>)<br />
            
            $link[posts] $vbphrase[replies], $link[views] $vbphrase[views]
        </div>
    </td>
    This made the horizontal layout with link images much better.

    Hope this helps!

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I think I followed al the instructions correctly but somehow my links don't show a description. Or was this not included to be in the module. If not do I need to add a line in the template?

    Everything else works though so props to everyone involved.

  9. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Can someone please give me advice as to what could cause this problem:

    http://www.buildrollz.com/index.php

    It doesn't show any description with the links.

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    367

    Default

    Hi pokash,

    the module does not show a description, so your installation is working fine. You just should use the horizontal view if you use it in the center column (look for the code some posts above). Or move the module to the left or right column, so that it looks better.

    larina

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    250

    Default

    I would like to know too how to change it for a random link order.
    Thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by karlm View Post
    Could you advise on how to add links from several categories? e.g. 17,19,22,23 ?

    Thank you.
    This works for me:
    PHP Code:
    WHERE links.valid AND links.open AND links.catid OR links.catid OR links.catid 174 
    But I give no guaranty if this will have any bad affect to your installation.
    Last edited by Ramses; 06-29-2009 at 08:15 PM.

  12. #32

    Default

    Does this support the last vBA links 3.1.0 with (SEO built in URLS)

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    367

    Default

    Hello zi5,

    yes, there should be no problems.

    larina

  14. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ramses View Post
    I would like to know too how to change it for a random link order.
    Thanks.
    hi
    i did every things like a first post and now i have a random links in my homepage.

    i do wanna now how to do it for last 5 new links?

    thanks for sharing

  15. #35
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    24

    Default

    how can I get it to look like this?
    http://www.vbadvanced.com/products.p...fo&productid=2

    Looks a lot cleaner, is that also available? I made all the fixes thinking it was gonna look like that and it doesnt

    Thanks

  16. #36
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    24

    Default

    ok, got it,
    just a little editing the template!
    see here

    manny

  17. #37
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Hi I have my directory running out of the folder directory instead of links.

    I have changed the links marked in red to directory instead of links but it is still not pulling the info through to the module. as shown in the attachment. The thumbnail is showing, although if I click on that it just takes me to the directory.

    Are there any other parts of the code I need to change to read as directory instead of links to get this to work.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  18. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    450

    Default

    Work well for vbulletin 3.8.4 and the latest vba cmps!
    By the ways, Does anyone know how to make is display links which are devided in two columns
    ------------
    [link1][link2]
    [link3][link4]
    [link5][link6]
    ------------
    Last edited by ttnb; 08-19-2009 at 04:48 AM.

  19. #39

    Default

    Nice Mod!

    I centered the text and images and it really looks so much better that way.
    Kamikage

  20. #40

    Default My Links Block Redesigned

    My Links Block Redesigned

    I change the layout of the links block in the: adv_portal_linkbits template.

    I think it is nicer to have the thumbnail show at the top and then the link title underneath. It made no sense to me to have the category the link was posted in above the thumbnail. That makes it look like the site is labeled by the category name. I also added in some width and height code to better fit the thumbnail inside the block. Oh and of course I centered everything! (See Attached Screenshot)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by kamikage; 09-13-2009 at 06:51 AM.
    Kamikage

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Latest or Hot Links Module (CMPS 2.2.1 + Links D.2.0rc1)
    By nostalgia in forum Add-On Modules (version 3.x & 2.x)
    Replies: 114
    Last Post: 03-06-2009, 11:25 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-02-2008, 12:57 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-14-2007, 01:31 PM
  4. vBa Links Directory Updated For vB 3.6
    By Brian in forum Announcements
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 10-02-2006, 11:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •