Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: 403 Error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Posts
    249

    Default 403 Error

    Hello,

    For some reason, I'm getting a 403 Access Forbidden when you click on any of my links in the Links Directory. Here is what the url looks like when you click on a link:

    http://nashvillechristian.com/links/...ellowship.com/

    That is: "mysite.com/links/showlink.php?do=goto&l=10&linkurl=http://www.theanchorfellowship.com"
    Is anyone else having this problem? Any idea how I can prevent it?

    Thanks!
    Jeff

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    A galaxy far, far away...
    Posts
    6,609

    Default

    [ Thread split ]

    Jeff, check the chmod permissions of your /links folder, make sure that showlink.php accessible.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Posts
    249

    Default

    Hey Kevin,

    I don't understand exactly what you're saying. Can you please elaborate?

    Are you saying that the whole Links folder should be chmod to 777?

    How then do I: "make sure that showlink.php accessible"?

    Thanks for the help!
    Jeff

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    A galaxy far, far away...
    Posts
    6,609

    Default

    777 will make everything writable which isn't necessary. If you make sure they are at least 755 then you should be good to go.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Posts
    249

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KW802 View Post
    777 will make everything writable which isn't necessary. If you make sure they are at least 755 then you should be good to go.
    It already had a 755, so nothing has changed, I'm still getting the error.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    A galaxy far, far away...
    Posts
    6,609

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NashChristian View Post
    It already had a 755, so nothing has changed, I'm still getting the error.
    Right now you have the forums turned off. Is the error occurring when the forums are turned on?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Posts
    249

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KW802 View Post
    Right now you have the forums turned off. Is the error occurring when the forums are turned on?
    Yep... just activated both the forums and links directory for testing, same problem. You can see for yourself...

    Thanks.
    Jeff

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    18

    Default

    This is my issue as well. I do have a ticket submitted and will post here if they find it first.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Every Where
    Posts
    14

    Default

    I'm getting the same thing too.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Hope we can get this sorted out, no word from the support ticket yet.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Posts
    249

    Default

    I've disabled my Links Directory, until it becomes a bit more stable.

    Bummer...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default

    It looks like your server might be having an issue with 'http' being in the URL (showlink.php?do=goto&l=10&linkurl=http://www.theanchorfellowship.com/)

    If having 'http://' within the URL is creating a problem due to your server settings, the best solution would probably be to search your templates for "&linkurl=$link[linkurl]" and remove that code from each (should be 3 different templates total).
    Frequently Asked Questions
    CMPS Users Manual

    For vBadvanced software assistance, please use the support forums.
    Unsolicted PMs, IMs, and email will not be responded to.
    If you have a non-software related question or problem with your account, please submit a support ticket.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Posts
    249

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Brian View Post
    It looks like your server might be having an issue with 'http' being in the URL (showlink.php?do=goto&l=10&linkurl=http://www.theanchorfellowship.com/)

    If having 'http://' within the URL is creating a problem due to your server settings, the best solution would probably be to search your templates for "&linkurl=$link[linkurl]" and remove that code from each (should be 3 different templates total).
    Thanks for the quick reply Brian.

    I've got plain, vanilla, everyday, CPanel access, shared webhosting through HostGator. If my server configuration is the problem, then a LOT of people will have the exact same problem that I'm experiencing.

    Hopefully you can find a fix that works for everyone, without requiring massive template edits.

    I'm comming to a place in life where I need to simplify things, and all these template edits make upgrades an absolute nightmare, at least for me.

    I need a plug and play product, or I need to uninstall it.

    I appreciate all your help.
    Thanks.
    Jeff

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Every Where
    Posts
    14

    Default

    You know... I have Host Gator too. But, my GoDaddy account is still active.

    It sounds like a Host Gator issue to me which would impact quite a few in the web world.

    Brian, are they a way to code your software so template edits wouldn't be necessary?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Hostgator here too, uh oh?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Error logging into HomePage (White List Error)
    By forumsoup.com in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-14-2008, 02:11 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-25-2008, 02:16 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-28-2008, 03:26 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 12:38 PM
  5. Parse error (adminfunctions_template) and a fatal error (vbacmps_install)
    By Kizzmet in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-30-2004, 07:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •