Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Meta Tag Retrieval

  1. #1

    Default Meta Tag Retrieval

    When adding links, I have noticed that if the person used capitalization it won't retrieve the description. Can you fix it where it isn't case sensitive?

    example:

    retrieved
    Code:
    <meta name="description"
    Not retrieved
    Code:
    <meta name="Description"
    <META NAME="DESCRIPTION"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default

    Capitalization shouldn't matter... Which version of vBa Links are you running?
    Frequently Asked Questions
    CMPS Users Manual

    For vBadvanced software assistance, please use the support forums.
    Unsolicted PMs, IMs, and email will not be responded to.
    If you have a non-software related question or problem with your account, please submit a support ticket.

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default

    Ahh, I see the problem now. The code that grabs the meta tags from a page was set so that capitalization doesn't matter, but a few lines down there's a spot that checks the names of the meta tags and the capitalization was throwing things off there. I've just applied the fix to the links/addlink.php file in the download package here, so if you will download the files from here again and update that one one on your server that should take care of the issue.
    Frequently Asked Questions
    CMPS Users Manual

    For vBadvanced software assistance, please use the support forums.
    Unsolicted PMs, IMs, and email will not be responded to.
    If you have a non-software related question or problem with your account, please submit a support ticket.

  5. #5

    Default

    Thanks Brian, downloading now.

  6. #6

    Default

    Still doesn't want to grab the description, title, or keywords if they use capitalization in the code.

    It retrieves this:
    Code:
    <meta name="title"
    <meta name="description"
    <meta name="keywords"

    Doesn't retrieve this or variations:

    Code:
    <meta name="Title"
    <META NAME="TITLE"
    <meta name="Description"
    <META NAME="DESCRIPTION"
    <meta name="Keywords"
    <META NAME="KEYWORDS"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default

    Can you try deleting the links/addlink.php file from your server, upload that file from the download package here, and then try again? I've double-checked everything and the files here should be updated, and none of those variations you posted should be a problem anymore.
    Frequently Asked Questions
    CMPS Users Manual

    For vBadvanced software assistance, please use the support forums.
    Unsolicted PMs, IMs, and email will not be responded to.
    If you have a non-software related question or problem with your account, please submit a support ticket.

  8. #8

    Default

    I deleted addlink.php and uploaded the new one. The file size was different so that may of been the problem. I'll let you know how it goes. Thanks.

  9. #9

    Default

    Just tried adding a site to my links directory. It only grabbed the title, but the site had a description and keywords. Any idea what is causing this?

    <meta name=description content="A language arts reference tool and comprehensive search engine for words. Includes the functions of a rhyming dictionary, thesaurus, and spelling checker, as well as an integrated full-text search engine for all of Shakespeare's works and thousands of quotations and poems.">
    <meta name=keywords content="rhyming dictionary rhyme rhymes thesaurus spelling spellcheck words songwriting poetry language lyrics shakespeare quotations mother goose quotes rimezone rymezone">
    <TITLE>RhymeZone rhyming dictionary and thesaurus</TITLE>

    http://www.rhymezone.com/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default

    Probably the lack of quote tags around "description". I'm not sure if there's going to be an easy way to grab the tags when the site isn't using valid code.
    Frequently Asked Questions
    CMPS Users Manual

    For vBadvanced software assistance, please use the support forums.
    Unsolicted PMs, IMs, and email will not be responded to.
    If you have a non-software related question or problem with your account, please submit a support ticket.

  11. #11

    Default

    I've noticed tags aren't very consistent on sites. Probably no way to cover every possibility.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Meta tag ??
    By Brenda in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 02:32 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-11-2008, 07:01 PM
  3. How can i set meta tags?
    By vnairp11 in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-09-2007, 11:32 AM
  4. Meta tags
    By attroll in forum Feedback & Suggestions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-16-2007, 01:06 PM
  5. Meta tag changes to index.php
    By disco4me in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-05-2005, 07:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •