Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: How do I change Hosts and Domain names

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default How do I change Hosts and Domain names

    I have a 3.8 VBull site with 3.2.2 Vbad Attached....

    I am trying to find out at VBULL site how to keep my board intact but I have to transfer HOSTS and give it a new domain name also...

    My Q is will the VBAD transfer with the board or do I have to remove the MOD before I try a transfer???

    is it as simple as a site and database restore to a new host and all will work?

    If anyone can give me a couple answers that would be great...

  2. #2
    Gone. vB is worthless now
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,695

    Default

    That depends I guess on your new host, are you using CPanel now and at your new host?

    I changed host a long time back and the new company moved the site complete in less than 15 minutes, I never had to touch anything,waiting for the DNS to resolve took longer.

    What host are you going over to?

  3. #3
    Administrator Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,463

    Default

    As long as you or your host move all files and the database from your old server to the new one then vBa CMPS (and anything else) will be included. Note you may need to update the $forumpath variable in your cmps_index.php file (or whatever it's been renamed to) after the move though.

    http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/faq....uble_forumpath
    Frequently Asked Questions
    CMPS Users Manual

    For vBadvanced software assistance, please use the support forums.
    Unsolicted PMs, IMs, and email will not be responded to.
    If you have a non-software related question or problem with your account, please submit a support ticket.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How to: Change names of links?
    By Geek in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2007, 10:00 PM
  2. How Do I change names of modules?
    By tresor in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-06-2006, 02:43 PM
  3. Multipe cmps front pages with domain names
    By deb0 in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-17-2005, 12:01 AM
  4. Where do I change the names....
    By ncangler in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-28-2005, 08:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •