Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Newbie question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default Newbie question

    I have no experience with the vBadvanced products and don't know if this is possible:
    Right now we are running vBulletin on a test server and looking to do the following.

    We are a reef aquarium club and many members do DIY projects about lighting, filtration etc. on their tanks.
    With the regular forum threads things gets kinda cluttered and not the best way to present their work and their progress especially when other members start to post replies.
    It would be great if a member could post his project, progress and updates on the top and all reviews/comments below it. Other members should also be able to rate his work.
    My questions:
    1. I realize this software needs vBulletin but can it run kinda in a separate "section" and only be reached from a tab in the vBulletin navbar?
    2. When installing Dynamics is it going to take over different parts from vBulletin like layout, cms, sidebar etc?
    3. I run several ad-ons/plugins on the forum software. Might they be affected when installing Dynamics?

    Thanks for any help or suggestions.
    Michael

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,694

    Default

    1) Yes, set Dynamics as a front page or anything you want.

    2) Dynamics will integrate with vB but won't affect the layout of your other pages/sections.

    3) Other plugins/mods shouldn't (but could) affect vBa products , any issues ask in the forum here.

    http://nikonites.com/products/standard-7/ is an example of what can be done.

    and Phil's forum makes extensive use of Dynamics http://www.jeep-cj.com/articles/ all the articles are using Dynamics.
    Seen vB5 beta? No more vbulletin for me, done , gone,finished .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thank you for your quick reply.

    Looks like I am going to try it out as it looks very promising.

    If for some reason the Dynamics would interfere with any of my plugins can Dynamics just be uninstalled and everything will be reverted to the original state?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. newbie question..
    By luism in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-02-2009, 12:09 PM
  2. Help, Newbie Question?
    By kkeezer in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-26-2008, 12:07 AM
  3. Newbie question
    By Greek76 in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2006, 11:02 AM
  4. Newbie question
    By fränk in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-20-2006, 05:59 AM
  5. newbie question
    By randla in forum Troubleshooting / "How do I..." Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-14-2005, 12:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •