Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 31 of 31

Thread: vBa CMPS Security Flaw Discovered

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    HSV
    Posts
    276

    Default

    Is there any way to just modify some files to make the fix? I've got a lot of my vba files customized. Running 3.2.2.

    And thank you for the terrific support. Even vbulletin doesn't seem to support their v3 product as strongly as vbadvanced.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    25

    Default

    As Brian Mentioned here I think there is no need. but Personally I performed the upgrade process without any issues...

    before doing any changes please don forget to take backups...

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    34,466

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by A.Chakery View Post
    Brian is it ok to use the old news.php ? cause I did so much customizations to it and at the moment I have not enough time to do the custom codding again.

    thanks
    There were no changes to the news.php module, so it should be fine to use your old file.


    Quote Originally Posted by Artes_Marciales View Post
    OK, thanks.
    I understand that it is not necessary to run the installer right?
    Personally I still would run the upgrade option just to make sure that you're phrases, templates, and etc are up to date, plus that will update your version number so there's no confusion about what version you may be running in the future.

    Quote Originally Posted by Samir View Post
    Is there any way to just modify some files to make the fix? I've got a lot of my vba files customized. Running 3.2.2.
    You can open the includes/vba_cmps_include_top.php and includes/vba_cmps_bottom.php files and add this code just below the opening <?php tag to patch things.
    PHP Code:
    if (!defined('THIS_SCRIPT'))
    {
    exit;

    Frequently Asked Questions
    CMPS Users Manual

    For vBadvanced software assistance, please use the support forums.
    Unsolicted PMs, IMs, and email will not be responded to.
    If you have a non-software related question or problem with your account, please submit a support ticket.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    HSV
    Posts
    276

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Brian View Post
    You can open the includes/vba_cmps_include_top.php and includes/vba_cmps_bottom.php files and add this code just below the opening <?php tag to patch things.
    PHP Code:
    if (!defined('THIS_SCRIPT'))
    {
    exit;

    Thank you so much Brian! I've been a loyal fan of vba for many years, and this type of extremely rare support is exactly why.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Brian
    You can open the includes/vba_cmps_include_top.php and includes/vba_cmps_bottom.php files and add this code just below the opening <?php tag to patch things.

    PHP Code:
    if (!defined('THIS_SCRIPT'))
    {
    exit;
    }
    Thanks so much Brian

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    can someone please correct me if im wrong but all i do is download the new files and over right them? no need to install again or do you have to do that. and when i update will i lose every thing on the portal

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    so all I really have to update is that code snippet by adding it?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    HSV
    Posts
    276

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NJStangers View Post
    so all I really have to update is that code snippet by adding it?
    Per Brian's post:
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian View Post
    You can open the includes/vba_cmps_include_top.php and includes/vba_cmps_bottom.php files and add this code just below the opening <?php tag to patch things.
    PHP Code:
    if (!defined('THIS_SCRIPT'))
    {
    exit;


  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    i just updated the 2 files with the code

    thx

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Hi, Brian

    For the init_startup plugins, you forgot to add:

    if (!VB_API) { }

    * Compatibility for mobile app. FYI. Thank you for continuing to support this great product

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    HSV
    Posts
    276

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by diablo-sat View Post
    i just updated the 2 files with the code

    thx
    I found differences when file comparing 3.2.2 and 3.2.3 versions of the files, so I wouldn't recommend that without a full upgrade.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Security Flaw - can it be fixed without a full upgrade?
    By PhilMcKrackon in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2012, 06:35 AM
  2. Security Flaw - How to fix without upgrading?
    By BirdOPrey5 in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-02-2011, 11:00 AM
  3. vBa Links Security Flaw & New Releases
    By Brian in forum Announcements
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-01-2011, 07:45 AM
  4. Various Bugs Discovered
    By John in forum Bugs & Issues From v2.0.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 04:12 PM
  5. vBa CMPS Security Alert! 3.2.2 & 4.0 RC1 Released
    By Brian in forum Announcements
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 04:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •