Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 36 of 36

Thread: Adding CMPS to vB 4.2.0 Navigation Manager

  1. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default

    What if your cmps is the previous directory?

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RivaCom View Post
    What if your cmps is the previous directory?
    I assume you mean the next level up from the forum.
    Due to how the navigation manager works at this time it's best to make a home.php in the forum and redirect the higher level (index.html) to the home.php via an .htaccess entry.

    Eg: We have this...
    Code:
    #rewrite rules
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteBase /
    
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^ausphotography.net.au$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ "http\:\/\/www\.ausphotography\.net\.au\/$1" [R=301,L]
    
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.ausphotography.net.au$ [NC]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/index.htm [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/default.htm [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/index.php
    RewriteRule ^.*$ "http\:\/\/www\.ausphotography\.net\.au\/forum\/home.php" [R=301,L]
    AusPhotography - Australia's Premier Photographic Forum
    www.ausphotography.net.au is a photography forum where members share their photography, photo editing skills and techniques. We run regular photographic competitions
    Rick (site owner) and Kym (site tech) using this account
    Please vote for IPv6 support

    Home of the AP fully comprehensive vb4 photographic competition management solution

  3. #23

    Default

    Hey there, there is an issue with the vBadvanced module, when notifications are dismissed and browse back the notification page they still show they are there and that they havent been dismissed yet.
    But if you directly view the forum.php page then it shows that you dismissed the notifications right away.

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    I assume you mean the next level up from the forum.
    Due to how the navigation manager works at this time it's best to make a home.php in the forum and redirect the higher level (index.html) to the home.php via an .htaccess entry.

    Eg: We have this...
    Code:
    #rewrite rules
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteBase /
    
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^ausphotography.net.au$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ "http\:\/\/www\.ausphotography\.net\.au\/$1" [R=301,L]
    
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.ausphotography.net.au$ [NC]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/index.htm [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/default.htm [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/index.php
    RewriteRule ^.*$ "http\:\/\/www\.ausphotography\.net\.au\/forum\/home.php" [R=301,L]
    Would it be a problem to do the complete opposite? Make home.php redirect to domain.com/index.php ? Would that miss up anything?

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    30

    Default

    The problem with the navigation manager in vB4.2.0 is that paths are relative, so the Navbar goes silly when the CMPS home is not in the /forum folder.
    AusPhotography - Australia's Premier Photographic Forum
    www.ausphotography.net.au is a photography forum where members share their photography, photo editing skills and techniques. We run regular photographic competitions
    Rick (site owner) and Kym (site tech) using this account
    Please vote for IPv6 support

    Home of the AP fully comprehensive vb4 photographic competition management solution

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Do we have any idea of a time frame of a new version for VB 4.2? I'm not trying to be a pest to Brian, just looking for a rough idea? If anyone has heard...

    Thanks

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    140

    Default

    What's messed up again..? I'm not seeing any issues with vb4.2 and vba4.2

    Navigation manager works great, was able to create a new tab for vba in it and selects just fine.

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    250

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    - Set the Script option to adv_index
    Thanks.

  9. #29
    Junior Member jca2112's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    12

    Question Can't get vBadvenced to work with Navigation Manager

    Just upgraded to vBulletin 4.2.0 and vBAdvanced 4.2.1 and I'm not able to get vBadvanced to work with the built-in Navigation Manager.

    I've read previous posts about this, including following the instructions mentioned here:

    http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/show...3&postcount=18

    • Set Add Navbar Link to None for the Page in vBa CMPS.
    • Add (new) Tab in vB Navigation Manager.
    • Set Product to vBadvanced CMPS.
    • Set Title to Home.
    • Set Target URL to {options.homeurl}/cmps_index.php.
    • Set Tab Script(s) to adv_index.
    • Set Tab as Default.

    Once done, the Tab Home is created and appears in the top menu, but it is not selected. Links added to the tab do not appear -- the sub link menu below the tab is blank.

    Obviously the THIS_SCRIPT "adv_index" is not being seen by the Navigation Manager in order to know to "select" the tab. I've tried creating other pages/names, changing settings, disabling the vBadvanced CMPS "Construct Navbar Tab Links" plug-in, etc. -- but have not been able to get this to work.

    What am I doing wrong?

    Appreciate any help/info.
    Last edited by jca2112; 07-26-2012 at 11:20 AM.

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    I assume you mean the next level up from the forum.
    Due to how the navigation manager works at this time it's best to make a home.php in the forum and redirect the higher level (index.html) to the home.php via an .htaccess entry.

    Eg: We have this...
    Code:
    #rewrite rules
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteBase /
    
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^ausphotography.net.au$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ "http\:\/\/www\.ausphotography\.net\.au\/$1" [R=301,L]
    
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.ausphotography.net.au$ [NC]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/index.htm [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/default.htm [OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/index.php
    RewriteRule ^.*$ "http\:\/\/www\.ausphotography\.net\.au\/forum\/home.php" [R=301,L]

    Or just use a php redirect, instead of a complicated .htaccess rewrite rule
    put this inside your /index.php
    PHP Code:
    <?php

       header
    'Location: /forums/cmps_index.php' ) ;

    ?>
    Then move your cmps inside of your forums folder.

  11. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I'll double this, with or with no plugin the Nav Manager doens not want to recognise vBA


    Quote Originally Posted by jca2112 View Post
    Just upgraded to vBulletin 4.2.0 and vBAdvanced 4.2.1 and I'm not able to get vBadvanced to work with the built-in Navigation Manager.

    I've read previous posts about this, including following the instructions mentioned here:

    http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/show...3&postcount=18

    • Set Add Navbar Link to None for the Page in vBa CMPS.
    • Add (new) Tab in vB Navigation Manager.
    • Set Product to vBadvanced CMPS.
    • Set Title to Home.
    • Set Target URL to {options.homeurl}/cmps_index.php.
    • Set Tab Script(s) to adv_index.
    • Set Tab as Default.

    Once done, the Tab Home is created and appears in the top menu, but it is not selected. Links added to the tab do not appear -- the sub link menu below the tab is blank.

    Obviously the THIS_SCRIPT "adv_index" is not being seen by the Navigation Manager in order to know to "select" the tab. I've tried creating other pages/names, changing settings, disabling the vBadvanced CMPS "Construct Navbar Tab Links" plug-in, etc. -- but have not been able to get this to work.

    What am I doing wrong?

    Appreciate any help/info.
    Last edited by zascok; 08-09-2012 at 02:08 PM.

  12. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Right, here is the trick, that worked for me. Don't configure the tab for menu in vB Nav manager. Instead use vBA create a tab in menu in page config. I guess there is some kind of conflict cos vBa was made to meet 4.1. but 4.2 have changed the way it works

  13. #33
    Senior Member ibaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    295

    Default

    I have rolled back CMPS from v4.2.1 to 4.2 and it is working perfectly with vBulletin v4.2 PL2 using the new Navigation Menu

    There is something very wrong with the CMPS 4.2.1 update

    If you go to a test/development site at:
    http://www.aircraftpilots.net/

    You will see how the Home tab and the Aircraft tab are working perfectly with this setup:
    1.jpg

    However if I update it to the new CMPS v4.2.1, the CMPS tabs don't work, don't get highlighted when selected etc etc etc

    I tried clean installs and the same there
    Last edited by ibaker; 08-28-2012 at 05:00 AM.

  14. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Is there anyway of showing pages as active? I have created numerous pages using VBA and added them to the navigation. I would like them to show as active when a member is on that page. Is there any way of doing this?
    Last edited by Ross L; 09-24-2012 at 11:00 AM.

  15. #35
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel View Post
    That could be easily fixed. Create a plugin at
    and put in it

    PHP Code:
    if (THIS_SCRIPT == 'adv_index')
    {
        
    $tabid ''

    Worked great! Thank you

  16. #36
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ibaker View Post
    Perhaps you may find it easier in many situations by simply doing:
    1. In your Homepage settings ACP -> vBa CMPS -> Edit Pages -> select Homepage and make sure Add Navbar Link = "None"
    2. Open up your new Navigation Manager in vb4.2 ACP -> Settings -> Navigation Manager, and add a Tab called "Home":
    Attachment 6450
    NOTE:
    - Ignore the auto generated "Identity"
    - Enter the "Title" what you want on your Home Tab
    - Enter the "Target URL" to your site home index page (i.e. the URL to your CMPS Homepage)
    - Enter the "Tab Script" used by the THIS SCRIPT of your CMPS which is adv_index

    3. Set your Homepage Tab as your site default:
    Attachment 6451

    You now have your CMPS Homepage as your site home page and a tab for it plus the ability to add CMPS pages under it using the Navigation Manager with the URL being the normal link to the page:
    Attachment 6452

    For any subsequent CMPS Pages that you want a Tab for you can create another Tab using the 4.2 Navigation Manager. In this example I have created one called "Aircraft" but note the "Append 'tabid' to URL" for this one is set to "YES":
    Attachment 6453

    Hope this helps!
    work great thanks for this

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. vb 4.2, Navigation manager and url navbar
    By redde2 in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-08-2012, 05:09 PM
  2. vBulletin 4.2 - Alpha1 - Navigation Manager
    By ricktas in forum Troubleshooting & Problems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-29-2012, 08:43 PM
  3. Quick Navigation Missing "Attachments Manager"
    By Deyth in forum Bugs From 1.1.0
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-01-2009, 04:13 PM
  4. 3.6.7 CMPS v3.0 RC1 Site Navigation - adding links to the module
    By top dog in forum "How Do I..." Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2007, 07:57 PM
  5. [REQ] CMPS module for IRC Manager
    By dstephan in forum Module & Modification Discussion & Requests
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-28-2006, 06:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •